top of page

Interview & Reviews

Search
  • Writer's pictureDonk

Godstone - Monument Of One


I love my metal, I mean who doesn't, right? I can also tell who else loves their metal, and that is Godstone!


When it popped up on the MST review thread I must have listened to the first 30 seconds of Over The Line when I put my name against it along with the line 'It's got a very cool Stone Sour/Dream Theater vibe. I dig!' That is a line I stand by, it has a very cool vibe and after listening to the entire EP, I dig, I dig very much! Lets do it.


This EP packs some fucking punch! The production is fantastic. Bassy but not over the top and the vocal cuts through superbly. Over The Line is one hell of a way to kick open the EP, the varying tempos keep the song fresh and gives you that satisfying feeling when you know that live, this will cause a severe bang-over! The craftsmanship and synergy of the guitars is truly stunning, harmonized solos and crunchy riffs with a phat, no, PHAT bass-line rounding it all off.


The seamless transaction in to the melodic, rhythmic riff opening Tear It All Apart that then punches you fully in the face when the rest of the band kicks in. Another sign that a tremendous bang-over will be felt the next morning after seeing it live. The riffs just keep pounding as the song progresses, the almost Djent style chorus riff gives the hair on the back of the neck cause to stand to attention, a few bars of fuzzy bassy goodness after a melodic vocal that really does give me that feeling of presence I feel when I hear Corey Taylor sing.


I tend not to break down every track as I feel it could spoil the EP a little bit for the listener. I like to just give you a teaser so the rest of the EP has the same effect on you as it did on me! The scale and plethora of riffs and harmonies on this EP are breathtaking and James' vocals compliment everything superbly. The Way You Are, Breathe and Full Circle are the last tracks on the playlist, and if you asked me to pick a favorite from any track on this EP I think I'd struggle for an answer. Maybe Breathe because it's fast, powerful and what I would call a pure showcase of a track. But that said when Full Circle kicks in you know it! This song has bags and bags of groove and power.


I have listened to this EP a lot, I have a feeling that when you get it, you will too. Well done Godstone, this is a killer EP!


8/10 Review by Donk

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page